GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,678 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Patriot Guard Riders (PGR) and am looking forward to my first mission. I need advise...I am close to Arlington National Cemetery...and am planning to serve on missions there...I want to use 3X5 flags mounted on my GW. Any advise as to how you mount them?...what poles you use?...what you wear?...etc...any help is welcome. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,733 Posts
Here is a web site for the local GWRRA chapter in Daytona Beach. They routinely carry flags in parades and shows. There are several contacts there for you.

http://fl1h.org/

S

·
0 Posts
Jerry, I put my flag in my trailer hitch. I took some old tent poles and made a new flag pole with a stud in the bottom so I can bolt it into the hitch. I used bigger tubing so it could take faster speeds. I also drilled holes in each segment so I can put in zip ties. It's a little over kill but I did not want the flag to ever fall.

Tom

·
Registered
211 Posts
Welcome Jerry, I know honoring our fallen hero's will be one of the most satisfying things you've ever done. On the PGR website just reading the Letters of Appreciation from the families of the fallen gives me misty eyes and makes it all worthwhile.

I know that on the missions I've been on all the 3x5 flags were furled other than at parade speeds or for static display. I don't know if you have to do any hwy or interstate speeds but I think that's a lot of cloth flapping in the vision of the formation behind you. I know here in Florida the trip to the National Cemetary in Bushnell always includes a ride on I-75 and that can get hairy in formation. Spitzer and Tequilaroy's suggestions sound like good ones, unlike the HD's and other metric crusiers we don't have a lot of exposed frame to hook to and that's a problem for even the small flags.