GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up my new '09 Level 2 Black Cherry Red GL1800 2 days ago. :lol: :lol: :lol: Few hundred miles on the meter, and I'm lovin' it thus far.

Any comments are purely subjective 1st impressions. Somehow seems a lot more nimble than my 2 priors - (probably because I don't have all the extra weight of the multi-thousnds $ worth of add-ons the priors had - yet - LOL).

With 4 east-to-west, coast-to-coast trips under my belt, and able to "read a map", I was still a Complete Newbie to GPS units, so I'm "happy enough" with the OEM Navi. I found it very easy-to-use & user-friendly-intuitive (considering its built-in limitations) and very accurate. Quick read through the Owner's Manual and it didn't take very long at all to figure out all its "ins & outs". I know I could have gotten a more fully-featured aftermarket GPS for less $, but I wanted the built-in integration, less handlebar & instrument panel clutter, and these aging peepers sure do appreciate the big dimensions of the Multi-Function Display screen size and very-easily-readable text.

By default the Navi map display switches from full-bright daylight mode with grayish-white background to slightly dimmed night-time mode with black background automatically, based on the GPS-calculated sunset time for your current position, and the display was very easy to read and see details in both bright sun & dark.