GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife, bless her, bought me a Pit Bull lift for Christmas. It is equipped with the optional turntable and it has the air over hydraulic jack. I don't have a compressor, and all sales are final. Can anyone suggest an inexpensive compressor that can operate the lift? Are tie downs required with the Pit Bull? Can one or both wheels be removed safely while the bike is on the lift? I have never used a lift before, and with all the holiday activity I haven't been able to get to the garage to examine my present.

·
Registered
6,793 Posts
I have a new Pit Bull but not the air operated one.

I have used it four times and love it. Would you consider a trade and of course I would have to put money to it.

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Mike Simonetti said:
Can anyone suggest an inexpensive compressor that can operate the lift?
Compressors can be found in a lot of places, Sears, Home Depot, Lowes, Sam's Club, Costco, some Auto Parts stores. One of my favorite places to buy tools is Northern Tool and they carry an extensive line of compressors. http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/category_6970_87

I looked at the pitbull web site and do not see air requirements for the lift but I can't imagine it being too much. (I have the manual version.) I suspect a relatively small compressor would handle the lift. Some of the air over hydraulic lifts have manual function also.

Are tie downs required with the Pit Bull?
To be coservative tie down straps should be used when doing any work on a bike on a lift. In reality I rarely bother to put them on unless I am going to be putting a lot of strain on the bike like removing the rear wheel or plan on moving the bike around while it is on the lift.

Can one or both wheels be removed safely while the bike is on the lift?