GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This tire came off a friend's bike. It has 34,308 miles on it. Tire has been on bike 5 years so the miles were put on slowly and mostly on Florida roads with a few trips to the eastern mountains. He said he never felt a thing different when riding. He found it when he was checking air in tires. He runs 30 psi and is adamant about checking pressures. Tire still has 1/32 on the lowest wear marker so has miles left in it. I have been running P1's for over 5 years now and have never experienced this kind of wear. He is not an aggressive rider so he doesn't get over on the chicken strips much. If you are running a P1 watch out for this. Date on tire is 4214 so it was timing out anyway.
Tire Wheel Automotive tire Vehicle Synthetic rubber

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Well, what I suspect is that the several runs to the eastern mountains is what did the wearing. 30 psi for the mountains is too low. 34-36 would probably work better. On one of my first DS runs, I learned that lesson. My brand new tire looked like that after the first get together.

·
IronMan
18,731 Posts
IF ITS JUST ONE SIDE TELL HIM TO PUT WALLET IN OTHER POCKET :) YOU CAN SEE WEAR ON CORDS (TIRE) ABOUT INCH WIDE . NOT RUBBING ? IS THE ROCKS IN HIS HEAD MISALIGNED AND HE'S LEANING "ALOT" AND DONT REALIZE IT ! :unsure:;)

• Haha
Reactions: thecruiser

·
Registered
2,511 Posts
Let me remind folks that the P1 is not a high mileage tire. It is a light (21#) RF performance tire that is terrific for safe canyon carving, with super grip. Over 34K miles is more than a lot on this tire. And 30 psi only works on this tire if you never lean the bike. That pic pretty clearly shows that someone has been near the sidewalls with an under-inflated tire. If you are gonna lean, like Obwan said, get your tire pressures to 36+. If you are looking for high mileage, get one of the credible 25# RFs.

·
Registered
1,612 Posts