GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK...

Just got my VStream SE and have been "attempting" to install. Couple of problems. Granted, I'm no mechanical wiz kid, but I have done an air filter, coolant change, etc. So I'd say I'm nearly as competent as my local Honda Dealer's service monkeys.

1. Instruction photos/illustrations are worthless photocopies so there is no contrast of any kind. I can't believe that National Cycle sends such a poor instruction sheet with their product.

2. I did get the windshield mounted, but I can no longer raise/lower the windshield.

I have attempted various combinations of tight vs. loose to the main fasteners to see if that helps.... No luck

3. The screws that they supplied don't thread very well at all. They put some sort of thread lock coating on the screws... why? I have no idea, since the original bolts weren't thread locked.

4. They included some pads that attach to the fairing (sticky) and I have those in place, but I suspect the pads are part of the reason why the windshield can't be raised or lowered.

Overall I'm extremely disappointed in this product. I'm going to try it again tomorrow, but If I can't get it working correctly, its going back

I could use some helpful pointers if anyone has done this before. Thanks

·
Registered
4,751 Posts
I have the first one they made and like it alot:thumbup::thumbup:

·
Registered
803 Posts
I had the same problem with the threads. I took a wire brush and cleaned the threads. They went in just fine after that.

·
Banned
8,202 Posts
I dont recall the thread problem, but mine is VERY tight and difficult to raise/lower. It takes a LOT of force. Part of the reason is the thickness of the shield compared to stock (I think). If the pads are not installed correctly they can curl up and cause the shield to be nearly impossible to raise/lower.

It is a pain, but other than the raise/lower issue, I like the shield.