GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those who may not know how, and are interested in programming in your own personal message into the Opening Ceremony Screen in your Multi Display, below is the sequence for doing it. Maybe this has been put up on the Board before, but I am a newbie to the board and have not seen it. I just sent this to a fellow who posted on the GWRRA tech board asking for instructions. This is for the GL1800. I don't know if it applies to earlier GW models. Why Honda didn't put this in the owners manual is one of the great mysteries of the universe. :eek:

OPENING CEREMONY PROGRAMMING

For the following steps, "Press" means press and release unless otherwise noted.

1. Turn ign key to ACC and wait for the normal screen display after the default or existing opening ceremony is done.

2. Press the MODE button 3 times.

3. Simultaneously press and HOLD the TRIP and DISP buttons for at least 2 seconds, and then release.

4. Press the MODE button.

5. Press the DISP button You should now see the word " Special !" . If not, turn off the key and start over.

6. If Special appears, press the TRIP button.

7. At the prompt "Change OK?", press the MODE button.

8. You should now see a 12 character line, with the cursor at the left end. Use the TRIP button to cycle through the available characters until you find the one you want. (letters, numbers,blank, and some others)

Note: You cannot backup when cycling through the characters! If you pass the one you want, you will have to cycle around to the desired character again.

9. When the desired character appears, press the DISP button to to enter it and move the cursor to the next space to the right. The cursor only moves to the right, and then wraps from the right end back to the left end.

10. When the desired 12 characters (or less) have been selected, press MODE button to store the characters in memory.