GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
812 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so I purchased my wing near the end of June. I’ve not been extremely comfortable with it at slow speeds so I started practicing some of the things that Doug has been encouraging people to do in http://gl1800riders.com/forums/showthread.php?t=237208.

I’ve been struggling to get to the full scraping turns in 3rd, so I PM’d Doug for some additional help. He had me record some video of myself attempting the circles and gave me some additional pointers on things to do (for me, quit leaning with the bike, look up and over my shoulder (not down and ahead), and quit covering). Over the past couple weeks I’ve seen quite a bit of progress, while I’m not yet happy with where I am, I’m continuing to progress.

I didn’t manage to get out on the bike all weekend. Today, in New Hampshire it rained all day. I knew it was going to, and just didn’t care, I took the bike anyway (as it’s been so long since I’ve driven the truck I’ve managed to ruin the battery, so I didn’t really have much choice). After stopping by the local Honda shop (more on that later) I decided to stop by the local hockey rink that is between work and home (where they regularly hold MSF courses) and get in a few minutes of practice. Yes, it was actively raining, but I’d just had some success on Friday and hadn’t gotten a chance to reinforce what I’d done, so I figured I wouldn’t worry with the rain and just spend some time in the lot.

So I’d been there probably 10 minutes. Circles right, circles left, offset cone weave, repeat…
I’m doing circles and an SUV pulls up and a guy gets out and starts walking towards me. Did I mention it’s raining? Yea, still.
Ohhh, crap. It’s the manager of the Hockey rink and he’s going to tell me I can’t practice here, so I ride over to meet him.

Him: Are you Clark????
Me: Umm, no…
Him: No, you aren’t Clark?
Me: No, sorry.