GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I read somewhere, I believe on another forum, that someone was running a 175/60-16 Goodyear Fuel Max on the rear. It's not a run flat, so I'm not so concerned about that specific tire as much as I'm curious about that size. Would running a narrower tire give the bike a more MT feel, while retaining the benefits of a RF car tire? The other thing I'm seeing is that tire would also be shorter, so maybe 175/70-16. That should correct the speedo and maintain stock height or close to it. What do you think?

·
Registered
5,422 Posts
A friend of mine is using that tire on his 1500 Wing and likes it. I have never used it so I can't comment on it.

·
Registered
8,519 Posts
I've been using a 175/60R16 for several years. In my opinion it 'feels' more like a mc tire in that I don't feel the sideways 'push' in the truck tracks at some intersections. My first CT was a 195/55 but was soon shown a 175/60 by a friend at a Darkside get-together. I'll NEVER have another mc tire on the rear of my GL1800.
This is the tire I use: https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=Dunlop&tireModel=SP+Winter+Sport+3D+DSST+RunOnFlat&partnum=76HR6WS3DXLROF&vehicleSearch=false&fromCompare1=yes

·
Arkansas Ridgerunner
3,503 Posts
I've been using a 175/60R16 for several years. In my opinion it 'feels' more like a mc tire in that I don't feel the sideways 'push' in the truck tracks at some intersections. My first CT was a 195/55 but was soon shown a 175/60 by a friend at a Darkside get-together. I'll NEVER have another mc tire on the rear of my GL1800.
This is the tire I use: https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=Dunlop&tireModel=SP+Winter+Sport+3D+DSST+RunOnFlat&partnum=76HR6WS3DXLROF&vehicleSearch=false&fromCompare1=yes
Interesting, and it only weighs 20 pounds!! (y)

·
Registered
8,519 Posts