GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry for the silly questions but I am new to the GL1800. So new, only since few hours... So;

- In a 55F to 75F Day ride where is the Temperature Gauge needle suppose to be ? ( Middle, lower than the middle or 3/4 up or .....? )

- Ideal Tire Pressures for original Dunlop comes with a new Wing? Book says Front 36, Rear 41.... But I read here everybody recommends different pressure for front. So what's the ideal psi?

- Regarding rear spring settings; Do I need to raise or lower in order to put more weight on front tire. Just before I come to a complete stop front wheel feels too ligh like it was on a icy surface. Is it possible to load more weight on it by adjusting the rear springs?

Thanks in advance guys,

·
Registered
1,756 Posts
The temp gauge should always read the same, just below half is the norm.

36 in the front Dunlop is a bit low. 38 - 41 seems to be the prefered pressure. 41 in the rear is good.

The rear spring setting will not make a big difference on the front tire. Something does not sound right. Either the front tire has too much air or maybe the tire needs to be scrubbed in more. New tires have a mold release agent that will wear off in time. It is very slippery and should wear off after 100 miles or so. The dealer should have warned you about that!

Good luck with your new toy.

·
Registered
759 Posts