GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Which radar detector works best on a bike? Can it take the heat and humidity or any type of wet weather?

·
Registered
567 Posts
Valentine

Mounted on the handlebar so it has a clear view of the road ahead. It actually saves me a ticket 5-10 times per year. The dual receiver gimmick works! :yw1:

·
Registered
384 Posts
Radar Detector

Valentine One is the best I've found, it does NOT have to be mounted on the handlebars, I put mine in the fairing pocket and use their remote control and indicator. I've been using them for about 7-8 years.
Go to www.speedzones.com they have independent comparisons and the V-1 is rated excellent.
I like it because it will indicate the direction the signal is coming from and if there is more than one signal.
All will give a certain amount of "false" signals, just learn to "trust" it, it's a lot better to slow down once in a while for a "false" signal than to "miss" a real on or be too close for it to be "in time".
Regards
Allen

·
Registered
1,319 Posts
I bought one from a truck stop, which is kind of funny since they're illegal to have in a truck, and suction cupped it to the inside of the windshield above the dash. It is one of the higher end ones with the directional indicator, but have found that as long as it makes noise, I slow down. It doesn't really matter which direction the signal is coming from. It survived a trip to Canada and back this last summer, and it really rained for a while. To be fair, I don't leave it mounded all the time. I put the power point inside the left faring pocket, and will stuff the detector in there along with the cord when I leave the bike. Believe it or not, no one has bothered it, even though the pocket doesn't lock. I guess no one thinks to look if there isn't anything to attract their attention in the first place.