GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 2002 Wing. Since I started riding this past spring I have had a static in the headset / speakers. The static sounds like a fly on it's back with it's wings going. If you apply the rear brakes the static stops for a few seconds and then starts again.This happens even with the radio off. This static still comes through the headset. This is very annoying. Can anyone help me with this problem? This Wing has been a flawless perfect machine with 65,800 miles to date. :shrug:

·
Registered
878 Posts
I think that one is for the aux power plug, but if you search a bit you can find the one for the head set connection...

·
Registered
290 Posts
I think that one is for the aux power plug, but if you search a bit you can find the one for the head set connection...
If you find one, please let us know

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Inquiring minds want to know..

G,

Tell me a little more about your noise.. Is it ignition noise? .. buzzy, and changes pitch as the engine RPMs change? Alternator noise? A whiney noise, sort of like a hum, that changes with RPM? A constant static noise like an unsquelched CB?

Do you get the noise with the intercom off and on? One or the other?
With the CB (If you have one) off or on?
Aux input off or on?
CD player if you have one?
A combination?

What accessories have you added to the audio / intercom system? Passenger volume control? Kennedy switch sets or cellset? GPS? XM / Sirius?

Have you added anything recently?

Does this go away at a higher RPM? (Mine has an intermitent ignition buzz in the intercom, and it stops at about 3K-3.5K RPM. And only does it sometimes.. ) (I cleaned the contacts on my J&M passenger volume switch, and that seemed to help)

Does cold or hot influence it?

Is something near the spark plug wires? Or the coils?
<edit> Have you changed the spark plugs recently? If so, did it get resistor plugs put back in?