GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there. I am new to Goldwings and absolutely love my bike. I have a 2012 that I got as new old stock last fall, got a great deal directly from Honda on it. My only issue with the bike is the seat height. I am not tall, 5’ 7” with a 28” inseam. It’s a stretch for me to reach the ground and I am not ever flat footed at a stop. When I have my GF on the back, I am never really comfortable with my footing. Now if I only did highway travel, it would be ok, but 80% of my riding is back roads and suburbia with lots of lights.

After reading numerous post on the subject I am thinking, as my first option, of going with the Mustang Seat. Their seat sits you 1” lower and 1” further back. All the other custom seats raise you a bit and when I talked to the manufactures, for instance Ultimate seats, they really don’t want to lower the height of their seats.

My other option is the lowering the bike with a suspension modification. Not as costly but you lose the center stand and I think devalue the bike when and if I ever try to sell it unless the other person is also short.

So I have two questions. First, is my logic sound doing the seat as my first option? Secondly, is the Mustang Seat a comfortable seat? I have a Mustang seat on my 03 Harley and I can go 18 hours on it before I really start to feel discomfort, but my buddies 97 Valkrie, his Mustang seat never seems to have broken in, after over 10 years of use, and it sucks.

·
Registered
3,896 Posts