GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an '02, and have possible final drive, shaft problem. Will all years of these work on my '02 if I can pick one up off of EBAY

·
Registered
8,475 Posts
Final drives yes, but drive shafts from 06 and up are a different length.

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Cave-(P-factor)

I sent a reply but it says there was an error. I am not good at computer stuff. I said that I don't know for sure if my final drive is what's wrong. I will buy one from you if that is the case. I need a day or three to get someone more knowledgable than I am to make sure that the drive is indeed my problem. Where exactly are you located? I'd for sure pick it up if it's what I need.

Jack
Didn't realize I called you Cave and not Dave. Couldn't edit the title for some reason.

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Had to leave.

Got busy and had to leave for the night. There is a grinding and vibration. I did, last night, drain the fluid. Put a strong magnet in a white container and it picked up just a couple of pieces of metal. The magnetic bolt, which has a recessed end, had some pasty junk in it, but nothing excessive. I checked the level in July. Now, with no sign of leaking, there was about half of the fluid remaining. Soooo, I refilled it with new and when running it on the center stand, it still seems to be grinding. I am deaf, using a Cochlear implant, which distorts mechanical sounds. No mechanic here, I admit. I do simple stuff- brake pads, pull and replace tires, and am using a car tire. When running it now on the stand in third gear, it feels like the tire is out of balance. ------------Oh boy, talk about a hard way to diagnose something. I got info from P-factor about a final drive. As soon as I get someone over here that can hear, I'll try to really figure out what is wrong. Sorry about the long post.
Thanks much for the interest. I appreciate it.

S

·
0 Posts