GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question about a new tire on my new to me 2005 Wing. This bike was running 8 year old Dunlops; so I bought new 'Stones Exedra. Took them to my tire guy today which I've been using for 10 years on previous bikes (Valkyrie 1500 & BMW K1200) now I am home to reinstall on the bike & noticed the rear is mounted backwards on the rim. Front rim has arrows; rear does not. I called him. He says no big deal about rotation --- they do it on race bikes all the time. This wing is not a race bike ---- anyone have any experience with this situation, is this okay ?? The new rear tire is a G704. Only issues I see are rain dispersement and tread pattern. What about design and construction of the tire ?? Tks in advance and God Bless

·
Registered
2,691 Posts
I’m not advocating running it backwards, I’d actually bring it back and have him change it, if for nothing else, peace of mind. But here’s my story with this. Buddy came over and we BS’ed our way through maintenance and tire replacements. He actually was the one that picked the rotation but we didn’t notice it was backwards. He rode it for 12,000 miles or so and picked up a nail. That’s when he noticed it was backwards. Never had an issue, but it DID catch a nail :).

·
Registered
2,046 Posts