GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a call from my dealer this IS. He was told that Honda will replace my frame under warranty; My dealer will be doing the replacement at his place. He has never done this before as I am sure most dealers have not. I have a high degree of confidence in his ability to ensure that the replacement goes smoothly. I am glad that the bike is not going out of state for repairs as this means hopefully a lot shorter down time. Dealer says he hopes to make swap in 3 days or so once new frame is delivered.
I an concerned about title changes if any and have my Daughter who is a lawyer looking into any and all ramifications of a frame swap under NJ DMV law and Federal law. Dealer say Honda will be in touch with me as to treatment of any and all additional items on bike. Total and complete replacement of anything I have added that would be effected by swap is all I am looking for.
Bike has been photographed at dealership to record condition of bike once it was turned over to dealer. A list of any and all additional added chrome etc and all wiring and electrical additions will be made prior to any work being done. Dealer has agreed and this is for both his and my protection. We have agreed to work together to get this done as fast and complete as possible and at the same time use it as a learning experience for him when he has do another one. And I think this might turn out like weld problem where every frame will be inspected based on info and statistics of reported cracked frames.