GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Report on “205/60/16” Some one had to do it…

Well, not every one here wants to know what I’ve found. And of those that do they may not like what they hear. The short form is that, would I want to put some one on the back seat that I love? Naa,,,I don’t think so,,not to day. Here’s what I found. Every thing here is just my opinion, but I’ve been flying helicopters since 1976 and I’ve acquired a feel for the way thing operate. I think it makes the Wing sit a little too high and seems to have an effect on the caster for the front end, not much, but it seems like I can feel a difference. Honda did an incredible job of engendering the wing and setting the back end up another inch is in my mind going the wrong way. I can still let go of the bars but wouldn’t really think of letting my hands get to far from the grips.

The rim may also be too small for the tire and has a bit of a sloppy feel to it. I’d only be guessing but I’d say that the tire wall is floating side to side over top of the tread that’s based on the ground. Radials are designed to operate this way to enable the tread to stay flat and have more stickem power to the road. A different manufacture may have a stiffer side wall, as in light truck tires but then we’d be getting away from one of the reasons we want the car tire.