GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to riding. During my short riding career, I hear the phrase rev matching or blipping the throttle, particularly while downshifting. I've found several very informative YouTube videos on the subject and I understand the concept. However, every YouTube video I come across are sport bike or crotch rocket riders. Do you cruising or Goldwing bike riders perform "blipping the throttle" while downshifting? If so, describe your method. Or is this just a sport bike thing?

·
Premium Member
1,821 Posts
Yeah, I do it. I pull the clutch and give it a little "blip" as you say, to allow the down shift to follow the rpms down as I release the clutch, rather than just dumping it into a lower gear and throwing me forward on the bike. Slamming the bike into a lower gear isn't good for the bike and tends to make you take a beating as well. Pretty much the way I've done it since I was a kid, so it's habit. I've seen others just pull the clutch, down shift, and ease the clutch out. I guess it depends on how you were raised.

Reactions: apes115 and Tex-Ed

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, I do it. I pull the clutch and give it a little "blip" as you say, to allow the down shift to follow the rpms down as I release the clutch, rather than just dumping it into a lower gear and throwing me forward on the bike. Slamming the bike into a lower gear isn't good for the bike and tends to make you take a beating as well. Pretty much the way I've done it since I was a kid, so it's habit. I've seen others just pull the clutch, down shift, and ease the clutch out. I guess it depends on how you were raised.
Do you pull the clutch, blip, and step on the gear shift lever simultaneously? Or, do you step on the gear shift lever before or after the blip?

·
IronMan
17,634 Posts