GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Goldwings. I just bought a 2007 ABS. I was trying to figure out how reverse worked one evening
while putting it in the garage. Went out early the next morning, started the bike, put it in gear, and moved the
bike out of the garage. Outside I noticed that the reverse button was still engaged. Reading the manual it looks
like I shouldn't have been able to start the engine. Is this a common problem?

·
Registered
145 Posts
Been there, done that!

When I first got my bike, I also accidentally left the reverse button pushed in...I saw the "R" light on the dash, but, I guess because this is the first bike I ever had with a reverse, couldn't seem to put it all together at first.

·
Registered
878 Posts
It appears the reverse button is not functioning the switch inside it... Otherwise you should not be able to start the bike or put it into any forward gear... Ya might try to contact the previous owner on this issue to see if there is a history to go with it... If none is found then you might well need to take apart the right side handlebar cluster to spray some plastic friendly contact cleaner into the switch contacts... One of your first expenditures really ought to be a good service manual (if you intend to do your own repairs)... Do put out the $ to get a good one (OEM is preferred)... You might even consider getting Fred's video's too...

http://www.directlineparts.com/product.asp?pid=9876&str=4

Both will pay for themselves easily on your first repair that you did not need to go to the dealer for...

:doorag::doorag::doorag:

·
GL1800 Doctor
20,279 Posts