GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just received an email about renewing or getting a level 2 from the GWRRA....Currently I do not belong to this organization, but it sounds as if they REQUIRE you to go through THEIR training or riding courses... If a member doesn't do this, do the yhave the power to tell you that you can not ride with them ? If so, this sounds like dictatorship to me !! If not, then what is the use of these levels ?...I have been riding for over 40 years, with over 35 of those years and hundreds of thousands of miles on the roads and highways. I have NEVER had an accident, hit anything or even laid any of my bikes down !!!!...So you can't tell me how to ride !!...But I am very curious as to why they require you to attend or get these different levels.....If this is the case, I wouldn't join that organization.....If I am wrong,,,which I seem to be sometimes,,,please straighten me out....please tell me how it really is ...or tell me if I am right...........unruffle my feathers.......my only other thought that just occurred to me is this.............wait ..I won't say it ,,,you tell me...........please.........ruffled Henry

·
Registered
1,487 Posts
The Rider Ed Program in GWRRA is strictly a voluntary program. No requirements of any kind. Some people participate in it and others don't.

It has no affect on your membership or how you are perceived.

·
Chard Member
12,960 Posts
They don't even require you to own a motorcycle! LOL...

It's my understanding GWRRA was going to lose it's "non profit" status a few years back. They started promoting the rider education programs to keep the "non profit" status!

·
Registered
1,304 Posts
Red said:

It's my understanding GWRRA was going to lose it's "non profit" status a few years back. They started promoting the rider education programs to keep the "non profit" status!
Now that was funny :!:

·
Registered
1,493 Posts
Red said: