GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all ! -I am waiting on a new GPS to arrive so I was looking at Hd Ride planner! From what I understand you can ony have 9 way points including start & finish! So My question is how do you plan for longer trips?..Do you break them down into smaller ones? -This is my first time trying this ,as you most likely can tell!! LOL -we are going on a 5500 mile trip and want to plan out main course! Also if along the way we wanted to make changes to it how does that play in to it?..Thanks for all the help!

·
Registered
453 Posts
Gps

Look at TYRE software. If you have a Garmin, then ALSO look at BaseCamp from Garmin. Of course if you have a garmin, it has to be able to accept routes. You can look on their site in the technical specification page, and about 3/4 the way down it will say 100 routes (for most current models.) These can be thousands of way points, and as long as you want, but I advise breaking it down for just a few hundred miles each, because if you make a mistake, you may have to scrap the whole route, and start over.

BTW, I like BaseCamp, but it probably just because I have gotten used to it and understand it much better.

·
Registered
5,936 Posts
Hello all ! -I am waiting on a new GPS to arrive so I was looking at Hd Ride planner! From what I understand you can ony have 9 way points including start & finish! So My question is how do you plan for longer trips?..Do you break them down into smaller ones? -This is my first time trying this ,as you most likely can tell!! LOL -we are going on a 5500 mile trip and want to plan out main course! Also if along the way we wanted to make changes to it how does that play in to it?..Thanks for all the help!