GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(I didn't want to hijack Baddawg's "what's the safest tire" thread, so I've started a separate one.)

I've been riding for 46 years and don't believe I have ever seen one of the major motorcycle tire manufacturers offer a run flat tire option.

Run flat tire technology has been around for a long time now, so what in the world is keeping run flat MOTORCYCLE tires from being manufactured and offered for sale?

I know one possible answer may be "money". That said, I'd personally be happy to pay a premium for a run flat version of any of the major manufacturer's motorcycle tires.

One request:
Please don't turn this thread into a MT vs CT thread. I know I can put a CT on the back. That's not the purpose of the thread.

I'd simply like to understand why run flat MTs are not available for sale in the 21st century! Makes no sense!

·
Banned
11,396 Posts
Here's the short version-"They can,but they won't"

Added weight of thicker sidewalls plays a big part I believe.

I have no idea how much weight this product adds to a tire after it is applied?,but here is something that is out there right now. http://www.rhinotire.com/

·
Registered
7,796 Posts
If autos have run-flat tires isn't a TPMS required? Seems like I heard that somewhere, but don't know it to be a fact. If it's true, I'm guessing that rule would hold for motorcycles too. It certainly makes sense.

·
Registered
11,183 Posts
Couple of things.

Wingleader09, I think all autos today have to have TPMS regardless of tire type. I think that became law about 4 years ago...not sure.