GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been playing with some LED’s to replace the (easy blow) bulbs in my lighted fairing grill accents (first pic) and I have something that I like the results of for wiring. But, I am not an electrical engineer and would like a sanity check on it without getting too complicated. Since this is going on my 1800, power source will be the standard 12-14 volts. The scheme is a 1 watt 100 OHM resistor leading into 15 2 volt LED’s 5 serial and 3 parallel (second pic). Smaller OHM resistors would heat up the resistor (which I am guessing is not good). I am also trying to limit wire count behind the LED's (the main reason for 3 parallel). Another advantage of this will allow a single LED to fail without taking out others. The sanity check is to make sure that I will not have premature LED or resistor failure and still achieve maximum light within normal voltage range. The ideas here were derived from answers to questions from other people that know more about this than I. Please forgive the crude drawing, I did not have an electronics template and had to improvise and build my own resistor, LED’s, and ground point pictures. The resistor and the wiring pattern are the only things I can alter where required. I only have a test connection set up at this time, so everything I have done can be undone to satisfy change requirements.

Thanks!

LED Stats:
Category: Optoelectronics
Color: Amber/Yellow
Lens Style: round, 5mm T1 3/4
Lead Style Radial
Millicandela: 7800
Voltage: 2.0 V

Resistor Stats:
100 OHM 2% 1W110

·
Registered
75 Posts
Well you need to know the ma draw for each LED. For example if the LEDs require 10ma, you have 3 parallel LEDs in a set of 5 series. Each set will draw 30ma (10X3) times the 5 sets = 150ma.

You need to drop 14volts to 10 volts so each set will have 10 volts equally dropped to 2 volts per set.