GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a new Wing and pulled off the seat just to "have a look around." Now, I'm an admitted mechanic klutz, but holy cow, I should be able to reinstall the seat I just took off!! After an hour of trying to line up the dang holes, I came in to cool off and thought I'd see if any of you all have any tried and true methods of lining up the holes to get the seat remounted. Thanks in advance.
PS - If the only suggestion is to pour a stiff drink and make the best of it, I'm already on it -- Thanks

·
Registered
1,890 Posts
It's much easier (especially for a 1st timer) to remove the passenger backrest (2 screws inside the trunk) prior to installing the seat. Look on the underside of the seat and make sure the rubber washers/grommets (not sure of the correct term) are straight and not out-of-line with the holes in the seat. Grasp the seat and point the nose slightly downward. The 2 plastic tabs on the front of the seat should slid under the top shelter near the gas cap door. Then lower the rear of the seat. If you didn't remove the passenger backrest you will need to pull the cushion at the rear of the seat outward from beneath the backrest. Look at the sides of the seat at the bolt area. The seat should set down and appear to be sitting on the top of the battery cover tupperware. If not jiggle the seat until it settles into place. If it won't, raise the rear of the seat and make sure the rubber washers are still lined-up with the bolt holes in the seat. Put the grab handle against the seat and screw in the bolt. It may take a couple of tries but it will go. NOTE: This is one of those things that get much easier the more you do it. Also, if those tabs at the front of the seat are not under the top shelter you will never get the bolts in so be sure to check.

·
Registered
552 Posts