GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding my wing for two years now, I am having a lot of knee
pain, I had a MRI done and may need a total knee replacement on both
knees. My main concern is can I continue riding with fake knees?
has anyone on this forum dad this surgery done??

·
Registered
289 Posts
My Father inlaw had one knee replaced and he is doing fine. Do not let them do both of them at the same time. It took him a couple of months to recover.

·
I U Turn
888 Posts
I had a total knee replacement 2 years ago. Have riddin almost 30K.
since surgery. wished I had done it sooner. Just work hard in therapy and you will be fine.
Good Luck
Mick :D

·
Registered
19,054 Posts
I ride with a guy with both total knee replacements. He rides after 1 month from surgery

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
Sure did!!! I had both my knees replaced at the same time in Jul 02 at age 63, after waiting about five years. Decided I only wanted one surgery and one recovery. If you are in good health and fitness going in, I would highly recommend having both replaced at the same time. You may have to improvise how you do some things during the recovery phase because you will not have a "good" leg with which to lean, but you CAN do it! :D

I could not give you any better advice than what Mick and Kandgo have offered and enthusiastically support that point of view. Post-surgery, work faithfull and diligently on your reahab.

I did not start riding a motorcycle until late Jul 05 at 66. This past Jul - Aug I completed a cross country trip of 7,000 miles on my VTX 1300 by myself. Within the week after returning home I went to the local dealership to talk with them about my trip and found an 05 GL1800 w/8300 miles. I now own it and have sold my X. Absolutely no problems what-so-ever riding a motorcycle, short or long distance. Have joyfully put over 2300 miles on the GW in the seven weeks I have owned it. :D