GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
711 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still relatively new to GL1800s. On my latest '08, about 1 shift out of 80 (really approximate) I end up in Neutral when up-shifting from 1st. I'm guessing it is me, and caused by not shifting up hard enough on the lever. BUT...Is there an adjustment of some sort that might be out or off that I should look at?

This can be a bit embarrassing and/or unsafe, since sometimes I'll be pulling out from a secondary road onto another and I go nowhere fast in neutral with traffic coming! Plus I'm losing momentum, often in a corner at a slow speed where I really need to be accelerating.

If the consensus is I just need to jam those gears harder, I'm there. OTOH, if something is out of adjustment I'd like to know.

Thanks.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Are you pre-loading the shifter? By that I mean are you raising your foot until you feel resistance before the actual shift. Another thing that can help is to not let off all the way on the throttle. Most bikes don't like a lazy shift.

·
Registered
237 Posts
I had some shift issues when I first bought my 08, then got into a groove with the new bike and no more issues after a few months of getting used to her.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
934 Posts
I've got a 2004, I've had it for almost 10 years and I STILL DO IT once in a blue moon. It happens and yes, it's a bit embarrassing.

Greg
2004 GL1800
Rider 123, 2019 Tour of Honor
Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
649 Posts
If you have grown up around the Honda product, it is known as the clunk and grind transmission. When shifting doing the toe up, you just hold the shifter up, keep it loaded for awhile till you know the power it being delivered good and solid, and then you can do it all again

·
Vendor
17,794 Posts