GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At local Dealer's I saw a Sidestand Pad for the GL-1800 listed at $28.94

It's a pad that fits on the stock sidestand foot & you tighten a setscrew to hold it on - making the small stock foot much larger.

Any links to this online (cheaper)?

·
Registered
732 Posts
One of the best purchases I made from Hal.
Living in Florida with all of it's sugar sand you need a puck or something to put down, so your bike won't fall over, when you put the side stand down.
The Rivco attachment is what the doctor ordered........works just as well in grass too.
Just make sure you put some lock-tite on the set screw when you install it or it will fall off.

·
Registered
877 Posts
I've been using the Rivco plate for about 2 1/2 years now. It slides on and is secured with a set screw. You might have to check the set screw from time to time as mine has loosened up a couple times. Maybe a little locktite would help. It has worked well.
I also made a modifcation to it when I was using a 70 series tire which raised the bike up.
It's the Rivco plate & a 3/4" piece of wood. The wood has lasted a couple years + but I might get a piece of aluminum, cut it to shape and drill and tap a couple holes for the bolts.

·
Registered
411 Posts
Free

Gees, all this time I've been smashing a pop can and sticking it under the kickstand when in wet/soft conditions. Didn't know about some of this high-tech stuff out there, and all for $29.95, plus shipping and handling.

I always manage to find something to stick under there when I need it.

Also, one of the insurance companies handed out some square plastic pads with their logo on it at some of the races last year. I stick that in the left glove box just in case the area is litter-free.

I'd be interested in other clever home-brew ideas as well.

Cloud9

·
Registered
1,569 Posts
Re: Free

Cloud9 said: