GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my 2012 for 3 weeks now.

Took my 13 year old for a ride today. Stopped the bike, put down the kickstand and got off. Grabbed his helmet for him and told him to hop off. He started to get off kickstand side then jumped the other way :?

Down goes the bike. He wasn't hurt and I thought the bike wasn't. But I have installed Kuryakyn highway pegs. So the peg got pushed over and dented the cylinder head cover. :frown:

Like a typical man I took the cover off and tried to fix the dent (It's what I do for a living so I thought I could do it). Well turns out the metal is cheap crap and thick as heck. So no fixing it.

So no big deal I just ordered a new cover , only $160 for it and te Honda emblem that may or may not survive the process of removing it from the old cover.

Now that you have the story here is my problem. I didn't know the bottom half of the cover came off without removing the top half. Seems the top half is the actual cover with the seal to keep in the oil. Now when I pulled it off looks like some of the gasket stayed stuck to the metal. No rips/tears just a bit of black stuff is stuck on the cylinder side.

Now it seems that I have a tiny bit of oil leaking. I ordered a new gasket.

Is there anything special I should know/do ? Just clean off the old gasket area , lube up the new gasket a bit and install it ?

Thanks for the help guys :)

·
Registered
4,927 Posts
You could have bought the Kury chrome valve covers for around $100 and covered up the dent

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You could have bought the Kury chrome valve covers for around $100 and covered up the dent
Yea but I don't really want to chrome out this bike. It's the Pearl White and I like the white/silver/black look.

I have a chromed out Vulcan 900 if I want to ride a blinged out bike :)

·
Registered
2,262 Posts