GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Getting ready for massive flames, I'm a smoker and want to install a cigarette lighter on my new (to me) GL1800. I'm brand new to the Wing World and don't have a clue as to where others install their lighter, now how.

It would be nice to use same fixture for my electric clothes, but not absolutely necessary. I've changed my Gerbings connection to the cigarette style (but heavy duty) for quick connect convenience on my H-D, which had two lighters, aka power outlets.

Just so you know I'm considerate, if I happen to be riding along with you, I'll ride in back :) - wouldn't want to endanger anyone's life with second hand smoke!

·
Registered
561 Posts
I have not performed an installation like this, but I'll offer my advice, for what it is worth.

The first step is to find the correct lighter. I'd check out either a marine or Harley shop, as they'll have something water-resistant. The standard accessory plug that you can buy from Honda and clones will not work with a lighter, simply not being designed to accommodate one.

As for placement, my personal choice would be under the lock on the starboard side panel, avoiding the square panel pop-out used for the heated grip controls, allowing such to be added at a later time without difficulties. I think that the port side panel is too cluttered for the task. Frankly, I can't think of another location, unless you were to make some kind of custom mount on the handlebars or the like.

My .02, take it as you will.

As for smoking, I must confess. I enjoy a good cigar now and then, but not often enough for a lighter on the Wing.

·
Chard Member
13,051 Posts
Hello Jim: