GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Resurrecting a post from 2006 so be sure and read from the end first ;)

Well after about 6 months of debating if I wanted to continue to ride, I have decided to hang it up. It wasn't an easy decision but after much prayer as well as discussion with the family, the wife and I have decided this is best for us. I have been riding bikes since I was 9 years old so riding is almost as natural as walking; however, I have to think about my kids as much as anything. It is one thing if something happens to me - I know the dangers and have accepted the risk of riding - my kids don't understand the dangers - all they know is how much fun it is to ride so it is up to me to do what I feel is best for all involved. I no longer feel comfortable putting them in possible danger. We have been blessed to have been able to travel the past three summers as a family on bikes - covering thousands of miles and the Lord has kept us safe the whole time - it has been a great and memorable expereince for our kids and they will miss it I know - but you do what you think is best for them in the long run - even if they don't understand totally.

So anyway, I have sold my Wing (to a list member) and my trailer (to another list member) and when the wife's ride sells we will be bikeless. I have enjoyed being on this forum and meeitng many of you in person and so while I may check in occassionally I will probably be very inactive given the more I hear about you guys riding, the more I will miss my ride. :cry:

Everyone ride safe - and who knows, may see you down the road after the kids get older.

Bob

·
Registered
280 Posts