GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
went to the shop that has changed my PA3 out in the past. I had already taken the tire off the bike as he told me he would not but would change it on the bike but would if I brought it in. He had an employee that was shaking his head no as I walked up. He was wearing a First Coast Honda shirt on and began by berating me for using a car tire and the danger I was putting myself and others in. I told him I had over the 50,000 miles of use all over the country and in the mountains I have had no troubles. I gave the tire to the owner then told him to not balance it as I was installing Dynabeads. Boy that set this other guy off again. "I have worked in the field for over 40 years and dynabeads are a scam. Might as well use golf balls as the truckers do" I told him I could not speak on experience here as this is my first time using them but a lot of reading from those on this board a couple other mechanics stand by them. I don't think golf balls is the route to go on a wing.

·
Registered
3,875 Posts
There's an independent mc repair shop here that really could use the business($$), but they refused to mount my tire, and tried to spout off all the usual BS that we hear; so I just went to a very successful car repair/ tire store a couple of blocks away and let them take my money! This is America and no one has to mount my tire, but I was trying to help the little guy out. And was going to try to channel them some business...... Oh well, not now.

·
Registered
19,164 Posts
It always amazes me how people who don't now nothin on the subject are experts, when those who have logged thousands upon thousands of safe miles are crazy!

·
Banned
2,290 Posts