GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I have long time trying to sell my custom painted Vtx 1300R, currently known as "vtxrosa" on the vtxoa board. Just wanting for the guy to get his tax return.

I ha been looking or 2001-05 yr range, blue or dark cherry red wing in my price range. And finally found a 2001 blue one with 169,000 miles. All recalls have been done. And has been completely serviced at Lebanon Valley cycles. Test rode it last Saturday. No issues with it other than the LH volume control button need alittle more effort to adjust. Price is $7999. So, I'm asking is there anything else I should look at or ask about the bike? I have no problem doing any repairs or tuning wrenches. I am a chevy mechanic going on 24 yrs now..

Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
7,797 Posts
The dealer probably won't know, but I would ask if the suspension is stock or aftermarket. With that amount of mileage, a stock front and rear suspension will be pretty sagged out. I upgraded mine at around 62,000 miles. That will be one of the first things you do if it is still original. Other things you will want to do pretty quickly is flush and bleed the brakes and clutch and flush the cooling system. Drain and refill the final drive. Also ask the dealer if he knows when the air filter was last changed. I presume the dealer has changed the oil and oil filter? Others will have more suggestions.

Welcome to the forum from next door in Jersey!!

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
Welcome to the Goldwinger's named "Bob" club! It's very exclusive. :thumbup:

If you are willing to ride... then it's my opinion that you can beat that price for a nicely equipped early model GL1800 with close to half of those miles or better.

Here's from my local Craigslist this morning: http://dallas.craigslist.org/mdf/mcy/4299339729.html