GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to GL1800Riders but in a short period I've found the forums very helpful, so I'm posting a call out for help.
Taking a Southern Tour and would like to know of any and all possible good motorcycle roads you can suggest. Here are the destinations:

Atlanta to Troy, Al.
Troy to Pensecola to Mobile
Mobile to New Orleans
New Orleans to Vicksburg
Vicksburg to Tupelo
Tupelo to Birmingham and back to Atlanta.

We like to ride the back roads and will say off the mega slab if possible.

Thanks for your help and looking forward to your suggestions.

Scott ( sorry, no flash; I'll catch up with that later)

·
Registered
902 Posts
Too far north for you?

About 80 miles north of Atlanta is the small town of Suches. State highway 180 runs between State road 60 and US 129 running East from Suches. There is a short portion of this mountain road that is fairly straight but 90% of it is made up of twisties. It's a fun and challenging ride.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Steve-O; Thanks for the web site...we have check several but not this one.

WildBillLyle: We won't be going that far north. You are right, the roads around Suches are excellent; I've had many great miles in that area.

thanks

Scott

·
Registered
9,194 Posts
<...>We like to ride the back roads and will say off the mega slab if possible.

Thanks for your help and looking forward to your suggestions.
You'll get some quality suggestions, I'm sure - here's (hopefully) another.

One of the fun things with a GPS (or two) on a bike is that they can give you real-time road suggestions while enroute. If the road really is the destination, well that's one thing, and I get that. If you're headed from point to point, why not do a bit of Googling, followed up with a road or two that looks really, really interesting to ride, and ask here.