GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's probably been asked before but I need to ask anyway.
I have a 2004 1800 with 14000 miles on it. I noticed the Honda maintainence manual says change plugs every 16000 miles. With modern day electronic ignitions and unleaded gas I would expect to get a lot more than 16000 miles out of a set of plugs. This reminds me of the early 60's with leaded gas and point ignition. I pulled a couple plugs this AM and they looked good.
What would be a more relistic mileage that the majority of riders on the web are experiencing. I'm new to the goldwing lifestyle and am learning all the time.

:?: :?:

·
Registered
127 Posts
Wayne - There is no majority answer to your question. Some never change them, some change them early, some change by the book. There are some who are convinced that Honda is out to screw them by requiring the owner to change the plugs at 16,000 miles, and they recommend changing the plugs at every concievable mileage. IMHO, change the plugs per the maintenance recomendation. You can't go wrong.

·
Chard Member
12,963 Posts
If I pull them to look at them, I spend the $10 for new ones.

You hear mileages from 20,000 to 80,000 miles on plugs. It's like the oil thing. Do whatever makes you feel good! LOL...

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
I had about 20 thousand on my current plugs and the bike ran great, but while at the homcoming, I got a great deal on a couple sets of plugs, and thought it would be a good idea to repace them before I left for a 4000 mile trip, what a noticable differece the new plugs made, I will start replacing them at regular intervals now.

·
Registered
818 Posts
SPARK PLUGS

Pulled mine out at 26m. Checked gap on each plug (.047-.049). All were clean and could have re-gapped. Chunked em away and installed new NGK's per manual. Gapped each to .040, spec's call for .039-.043. Could not tell any difference in performance or MPG. What did I accomplish ??