GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received a SPIII for Christmas and am debating on returning for a 2610. I am a GPS novice and would like your input. :?:

I think I understand most of the differences but, I'm not sure what that means to me practically. :wink:

Serial connection vs USB.
Garmin memory vs standard Flash Card.
Unit keys vs remote???
2610 larger visible map display.
Handheld capability on the SPIII.

What else????

Is going through the return hassle worth it?

Difference in price appears to only be about $60.

G

·
I have SPIII. Never owned 2610. With that in mind...

Serial connection vs USB: USB is more modern, faster, often easier to access on your PC. Future P.C. may not have serial port. OTOH, present advantage for downloading waypoints and routes = none, really, as serial port is plenty fast.

Garmin memory vs standard Flash Card: Very real advantage to 2610. Flash Card is much cheaper, than proprietary cards for the SPIII. You can get detail for 1/2 the entire country on a 512 MB CF card, if I'm not wrong. Memory cards for SPIII are much more expensive.

Unit keys vs remote: Don't know.

2610 larger visible map display: 2610 nominal improvement over SPIII.

Handheld capability on the SPIII: SPIII cannot be handheld. It has internal batteries, which can power unit for SHORT period of time, without hook-up to bike's electrical system, but cannot be used handheld. Not a practical advantage, IMO.

The SPIII is a wonderful device, but if the price is close, I'd go with the 2610.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Fuzzy said:
I received a SPIII for Christmas and am debating on returning for a 2610. I am a GPS novice and would like your input. :?:

I think I understand most of the differences but, I'm not sure what that means to me practically. :wink:

Serial connection vs USB.
Garmin memory vs standard Flash Card.
Unit keys vs remote???
2610 larger visible map display.