GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys, I've got 2200 miles on the trike, the last 1000 on a long trip that took us through western Colorado and north on Highway 550. What a road! However, I am ready to go back to two wheels, unless I can get to the point that this isn't so much work. I am battling the twisties and fighting through curves. Hit some fairly strong cross winds today on a straightaway and it was like I was in the curves. Had to fight the handlebar again to hold it on the road.

Have tried numerous techniques that I have been told to use, but none seem to work. I am not a weak person, but I am 56 years old. This thing is wearing me out. I am thinking about aborting the trip and heading home.

I have a 3 degree rake, as recommended by DFT, my service guy and others. They say the 4.5 on this kit would make it overly sensitive.

Any riding suggestions would be appreciated...I've tried the push/pull of course, tried gripping the handlebars differently in curves, tried sliding my butt left and right and tried combinations of things. I am finding it very hard to justify staying on this trip because of the sore muscles and fatigued mind from concentrating on steering. This is not what I heard trike riding was all about.....

·
Registered
1,662 Posts
Well my experience is only about 4000 miles worth, so take it w/ a grain of salt. But I think you are right re: more work in twisties than 2 wheels. Heck of alot easier to lean than it is to push-pull. Having said that, I have gotten use to it, and am not fatigued at the end of the day.