GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just thought I would pass along my experiences in the hopes that it may help someone else.

I've been using edsets for a couple of months now and love them... however... :D

I decided to try Ed's earphone adapter and custom earphones from Now Hear This... http://plugup.com after I discovered that I could eliminate almost all of the wind noise in my Vega Summit II XPV Modular helmet using earplugs and a helmet liner.

Wow :!: :eek: :!: :eek: :!: :eek: What a difference. I ususally have to have my volume set at about 12 around town. Now I have it at 2-3!!! I haven't had a chance to test at highway speeds but if the ratio is the same it will be a big difference.

To be absolutely honest, I have very sensitive hearing and I will tell you that I am getting some very slight engine noise in the earplugs. I guess I will have to get a filter to deal with that, but it's not really all that noticeable. :)

I decided to try the custom earphones because I always wear earplugs anyway and because standard earplugs start to hurt my ears after about an hour or so.

I'm very happy now - the custom fit makes all the difference. I now have the best of both worlds. If my earphones quit working, I still have the speakers in my helmet ready to be plugged in. (That's another nice thing about the Edsets...they're modular.) :yes1:

But, I don't know if I'll go back to speakers after the custom earphone experience - it's that good. :1st:

Thanks to Ed at Edsets and Maria Navia at Now Hear This... :bow: :bow: :bow:

·
Registered
51 Posts
check state laws before traveling, it is illegal in some states to use earplugs

·
Registered
2,405 Posts
kajunwing said:
They Ain't Gonna Know with your hat on.

·
Registered
4,157 Posts
kajunwing said:
Are you sure?

I've never seen the law, just heard the rumors. When I asked a highway patrolman his response was, "We let deaf people drive, don't we?"