GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 113 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There is another thread in here regarding AK in 2014 that morphed into a thread for people who aren't able to make the trip this year. I saw that RAW posted his plans for going up in June - I almost missed the post. I thought it would be nice to have a thread for those who are committed to going up this year. I am going solo and would welcome the chance to meet some of you on the road. Backgrounder on me:

Going Solo - this is my first time making this trip. I'll be camping most of the way. I plan on leaving from ATL May 28 and have 6 weeks open, but can extend to end of July if needed. I am going to spend some time in CO/Utah/Montana etc before heading North. I may run down to Key West first just for grins. Would like to make it up to Artic circle - no desire to go beyond that point. I am on a Yellow '09 I picked up a couple of months ago specifically to make this trip. I am excited and nervous at the same time - this i something I have though about doing for a LONG time and now find myself in a position to make it happen. Life is good :)

·
Registered
2,245 Posts
Alaska

I too am going this year. Me and 1 riding bud will be leaving either the 31st of May or the 7th of June for 5-6 weeks. We will be camping most of the way and heading to Glacier NP first. Then through Icefields Parkway and points north. We will be trying to ride all of the paved roads in Alaska and some of the more famous non/partially paved. The Artic Circle up the Haul Rd and if the weather breaks well, maybe even Prudhoe Bay will be considered. We will be on a black and a silver wings, with a silver trailer. We plan to ride some of the more famous roads out west on the return trip.

Richard

·
Registered
2,185 Posts
Well, everyone so far is leaving earlier than I'm leaving. So I might get to run into you as I'm going up and you're heading home.