GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to upgrade the front suspension on my GL1800 and have a question for those who have done it already.

Like some I have limited funds and would like to start to upgrade my front suspension.

I was looking at replacing the front springs and stem bearings. Is this worth the time and money or should I wait save my pennies and do the "full fork" upgrade that Traxxion offers, but much later on.

At some point in time later on I'll move to the rear suspension.

John

·
Registered
682 Posts
Hi John,

My 2 cents; I put the Traxxion upgrade on my 2005. I am new to the GW (1 year) but just didn't like the feel of the suspension from the onset. Commnets from members of this board convinced me to do do the Traxxion upgrade. Huge improvement for me. Money well spent in my opinion. On a budget and if you are wrench savvy, there may be ways to make it happen sooner. I had Traxxion send the stuff and my local dealer installed it. The mechanic let me watch and participate. There is no way I could have done that alone.

Hope this helps.

Bill

·
Registered
525 Posts
The springs themselves make a big difference. You can feel it just coming off the centerstand. I believe that Traxxion uses a shorter spring with their AK20 cartridges, however, if you have already replaced your springs with Traxxion springs, they will give you full credit when you upgrade.

I put the rear shock on before I changed the forks and was surprised at how great an improvement just the rear shock made both in ride comfort and cornering.