GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Want to upgrade front and rear suspesion on my '02 Goldwing 1800. Ride two up 90% of the time (total of 365 lbs). Any advice on which brand I should use and why would be appreciated.

·
Registered
460 Posts
if you have the $$...Traxxion

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
seebee,
Oh my! You'll find lots of advice and opinions on this board, for sure:popcorn:

Welcome aboard! Try the search function, search for Traxxion and Race Tech.

Your choices include Traxxion, Race Tech, and Progressive. I am a Traxxion installer, so my opinions may be a bit biased.. But I also handle Race Tech, and can get Progressive.

Traxxion: Uses a shock that is made for them, and it functions well and is rebuildable. We've had pretty good results, and the failure that we had was warranted by Traxxion, no problems. (anything can break, it's how you are treated when it happens that counts) I use one, and the rebound and compression damping seem right. I have an 1.1 spring on mine. I run the preload at zero for solo, and 6 or 7 for 2 up, no luggage. You are a bit lighter, a 1.0 spring might be better for you, unless you carry a lot of luggage or tow a trailer.

Race Tech: More money, and I've never tried one, but their shocks look to be very robust. Race Tech is an excellent suspension company, I'm sure their shocks are an excellent product, and will serve you for a long time.

Progressive: I had one, and when t was new it was pretty OK. But, after 20K miles or so, it gave up the ghost. I then found out it wasn't rebuildable, but I could buy a new one for a somewhat discounted price. So it didn't last, and they wanted a bundle to fix my problem. Notice that I am now using a Traxxion shock.. In fact, that has a lot to do with how I became a Traxxion installer.

Here's a search result from typing in "traxxion shock"
http://gl1800riders.com/forums/search.php?searchid=2536693

=Dave=
GWBBA #9
rocketmoto.com

·