GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie on the board; so, I apologize beforehand if this question has already been discussed.

I am currently looking to move up to a tourer and have been researching Honda, Harley, etc. on the internet including forums such as this one. I recently visited one of the local dealerships to look at the GL1800 for the first time and really became interested in the level 2 model (audio/comfort) model. Very nice and, more importantly, the wife was impressed, as well. But when I climbed aboard and placed my feet on the pegs, being 6'4", I felt that my legs were forced down and back somewhat. Not exactly a comfortable position (at least for me).

Sure would appreciate any insight anyone can offer. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,382 Posts
Randy,
Welcome to the best group of Wingers.

You're not the first tall person that has faced this situation. Basically, you have 2 options, or the combination of options. You can buy a nice aftermarket seat and or a set of highway pegs that allow you to stretch your legs once on the road.

There are several optional highway pegs to fit a riders personal comfort needs.

Personally, I would recommend that you look at other peoples Wings. There are lots of pictures and I'm sure someone else that is tall like you can contribute to your questions.

·
Registered
4,613 Posts
If Bartman can make it work, so can you. Just have the credit cards empty and ready to go. :lol: Your inseam length is more important than your height when making decisions. For reference, in my post, the inseam is from my crotch to ankle which is what Diamond Seats asks for. Russel Day Long measures theirs differently. My inseam is 32 1/2 and I wear 34 jeans.