GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,569 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As someone mention earlier, I'm no expert on trikes. I'm here reporting the opinion of two other Gold Wing owners and myself, all of which are still on two wheels.

We're not comparing the ride quality of a trike to a stock GL1800. What we're comparing is the seat of the pants sensation between three different trike kits experienced by three different GL1800 riders with no trike experience.

After over 1,600 miles of traveling between 4 different trike builders we all came to the following consensus:

Trike builders using the same company kits can differ in ride quality. It is very wise that if one is in the market for a particular trike kit and plan to use a particular builder to test ride what he/she builds before you sign a contract or money changes hands.

Champion Trikes of the three are easiest to build according to our 4 different builders questioned. The Champion utilizes a solid rear suspension and when set up properly gives great traction and straight smooth road ride ability. We three feel that once the roads becomes less than perfect (like NYC roads) then the ride becomes quite jarring. Even with ground effects added one can still place their feet on the ground if needed. Maintenance we're told is very simple by all builders. Good bang for the buck here.

CSC Trikes (California Side Cars) have the most complex rear suspension of the three, utilizing a sophisticated independent rear suspension. We're told of a few maintenance short comings that may become an issue in the far future, such as lack of lubrication points for metal to metal contacting moving parts and a nylon disk replacement at 20K miles regarding the shaft drive. It was also mentioned that the CSC kit is mounted on one of the lesser strong points of the GL1800. Though this may never become an issue.