GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After reading about all the posts about wearing a textile jacket in hot weather, I decided to get one. Found a great deal on a new Tourmaster Transition 5. Decided to give it a trial by fire on Saturday. I had been wearing a mesh jacket for about 13 years. I knew it was going to be around 100 Saturday afternoon and I had misgivings about wearing a jacket in this heat with very limited ventilation.

A group of 6 riders (4 of us - me, dosxxs, MisterK and Steve - from DFW area and 2 – GlockJock and Bob - from Southeast Tx) were headed to Jefferson, TX for some BBQ. About 80 when we left Buc-ee’s that morning. Had a couple of the vents on my upper arms open and three exhaust vents on the back open. Could feel the air coming in and going out the back. Almost got chili. Stayed comfy all the way to Jefferson, about 3 hours, and was in upper 90s when we arrived. Our leader decided he liked traffic lights so we hit most of them. It did get warm in the jacket when not moving, but cooled quickly when back on open road.

Return trip was about the same, but we stopped a little more often to cool off and I did pour a little water down the back of my jacket to cool my neck. I also had on LD Comfort long sleeve shirt under the jacket. Temps stayed around 100 all afternoon and as long as we were moving, I was more comfy in the textile jacket than in my mesh jacket.

Still probably need to do a little tweaking on the vents, but overall, I was pleasantly surprised on how cool I stayed.

·
Registered
4,424 Posts
Textile

Just a note: If the humidity is high that will not work nearly as well. I use a Glacier Tek under my textile jacket when the humidity is high.

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Just a note: If the humidity is high that will not work nearly as well. I use a Glacier Tek under my textile jacket when the humidity is high.