GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,515 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My New Year's resolution is to totally expose this incompetent dealer before they Literally Kill someone!!

I'll try my best to be as brief as possible, but feel a long ramble is imminent.

Western New York Cycle, Inc
6695 S. Transit Road
Lockport, NY 14094
716-625-6111

I've been riding motorcycles for a little over 30 years. Have logged in several cross country trips, and at least a few hundred thousand miles in that time.

I had my first major crash on April 28th of 2003, when riding my HD Ultra Classic in the right lane on an Interstate at about 70 mph, this old bag in a new Caddy decides she wants my lane more than me, and ran me off onto the graveled shoulder. Everyone knows gravel is tough to maneuver at low speed, let alone at hiway speeds.

I was down for 5 or 6 weeks healing, and when well enough, I decided to take a gander at other touring machines out there. I rode everything, and wound up buying an 03 Hot Rod yellow GL1800. Since my purchase on June 6th, I logged 12,300 miles on er.

Picking the bike up after each service, I'd notice new scratches here and there, along with a grommet or two missing etc. I pointed this out to the dealer each time, and his reply would be that they're unbelievably careful with everyone's bike, so I just must not have noticed these defects. Funny thing is, I would do a mini detail on it, every day before riding, so I knew for a fact that it was their fault. The installation job on the trunk and saddlebag rails were botched so badly, that I swore to myself that I wouldn't allow them to ever do anything on it again.

Now, October rolls around, and lo and behold here comes my frame recall notice. I was really pissed! I've had at least 20 brand new bikes, and never enjoyed riding anything as much as I did this one!