GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Banned
2,607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife and I took a camping trip over the weekend to Goose Island State Park. While we were riding around Rockport, a lady pulled into my lane. Fortunately, I was watching for it, so I did what I always do, I laid on the horn, did a quick brake to give her room, muttered under my breath, and tried to see if I could tell what she was doing that was so important that she couldn't take the time to look to be sure the lane was clear.

She jerked back over to the left, then almost immediately back to my lane (there was room this time), but... she kept going. She pulled over to the shoulder. At about the same time it hit me that she was going onto the shoulder, I noticed the red and blue lights in my rearview. She was getting pulled over!!!!

I've been riding for almost 45 years, and I've had "lane incursion" literally hundreds, possibly thousands of times, but this was the first time ever a cop caught the person doing it!! I was thrilled. I told my wife I ought to go back and thank him (the cop). She said "you should"; so we did.

Turns out it was a game warden. He said that he'd noticed her weaving to the left a couple of times, and was thinking about lighting her up. Then when he saw her pull into my lane and almost hit me, he figured she was drunk and he'd arrest her.

Turns out she wasn't drunk. Her excuse - she was eating a sandwich.

He wrote her a ticket for reckless driving, but I didn't care. My day was made just by him pulling her over!!

·
Registered
898 Posts
Nice to hear that a Officer was around to witness the stupidity we deal with day in and day out! Glad it turned out OK for you and at least no one was hurt

·
IronMan
18,587 Posts
RECKLESS TICKET IS JUST AS BAD AS DUI :eek:4:

·
Registered
226 Posts

He wrote her a ticket for reckless driving, but I didn't care. My day was made just by him pulling her over!!