GL1800Riders Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
839 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to post a review of the Tire Stripper because quite a few folks were asking and I could not find a review at all on the internet. I know there are quite a few folks look'n at this changer so I will give a proper review.

I ordered the stripper on Sunday, May 3rd and received it on Thursday May 7th, installed it in my garage, this weekend I changed the rear tire on my GL1800, tire was a Dunlop E3 with about 16 thousand miles on it.

My background is basically a hands on guy that does almost everything and anything myself so I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty, I previously used a Harbor Freight tire changer and it worked well if you didn’t mind sweating a little and it did take a bit of cussing but it worked fine for the price, no more on that. I did break it, my fault.

I heard of the tire stripper by chance reading a thread in a forum and decided to take a look, the website has a video of Mark changing a GL1800 E3 rear tire, awesome, I was intrigued. Checked and they were out of stock, that’s ok, didn’t need it, got the Harbor Freight. Anyway, I went to change my front tire on Saturday, got it almost done, SNAP, well at least I finished the front but I can’t do the rear. Broken changer, excuse to get a new one. Ordered the Tire stripper on Sunday, they were in stock now. Got an e-mail confirming my order, liked the order process, it will take credit cards and paypal, love paypal. To my amazement it shipped Monday. Needed to find out when it would be here so I shot them a e-mail and followed up with a call (normally the link provided on the shipping email will tell you but a glitch in the system was not giving me a shipment date). I talked to Mark and he stated that he was actually answering my e-mail as we spoke, UPS tracking number in hand, to arrive Thursday, wow, woohoo.