GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all:

Tomorrow is tire day... I am being steered by the dealer to go with E3's.

They say they have nothing but problems with Metz 880's.

At first I was leaning toward Metz 880's from what some of you said here. Then, the dealers Gold Wing expert told me of all the problems with the 880s. I know my D250's are crap and ride poorley.

I would love to hear from people with both the E3's and the Metzelers.

·
Registered
766 Posts
Don't know about the E3s but I've been running Metz 880s for the last 3 years and love them. None of them have ever wobbled and they stick like glue. Probably the reason I've never looked to try anything else.

·
Registered
451 Posts
I wold be a littel skeptical of this or any dealers tire advice. This is just the opposite of the advice I received just a few weeks ago when I inquired about tire availability. I specifically asked about the E3's and the dealer said he would highly recommend the Metz 880's over the E3's.

So who are you going to believe? I think it comes down to whomever they(the dealer) is getting the best tire deal from!!! JMO But I would bet on it!!

·
Registered
451 Posts
One more thing, when these @250's are shot, I am going to replace with the Avons. I put them on my "02 and they were the best performing tire for me.

·
Registered
3,809 Posts
I had a set of E3 and really liked them, got 21000 miles on the front and still had some mileage left when I changed them. Had a slight dec wobble with the E3 but I think all brands have this problem with some of their tires. You may run 3 sets of Laps,Metz,Avon, or Stones and have a dec wobble out of one of them. Just the nature of the tire and the beast. Have Stones on now and they are good tire dealer did not have Laps when I changed

·
Registered
747 Posts
metzs