GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
554 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just curious. What has been your experience with a set of tires and what was the highest mileage you ever put on a set of tires with your Wing?
Please indicate the brand of tire also.

Thanks!

·
Registered
788 Posts
18,911 mile average on 5 sets of Metzelers. One set was changed out early in prep for a long trip.

·
Registered
788 Posts
Arn Butt Bill said:
I got almost 1400 miles once.
Depends on how you ride.
"1400 miles" - that's 3 days riding :wink: :wink:

·
Registered
2,789 Posts
When I used to ride the wing to work, I was lucky to get 10k out of them, didn't matter what brand. But, I live on the Texas coast and we only have about two curves in the whole county. Now the wing only gets used for LD trips and I have 10K on a set of stones with a lot of life in them still. Point is, depends on where and how you ride...

·
Registered
2,518 Posts
I have been rinding for 35 years, Riding Wings for 8, I have never riden with anyone, nor have I personally gotten more than 12500 out of a set of tires. I am saying anyone is fibbing, but you guys who get more than 13000 out of a set must ride straight roads at 45 MPH. :) :croc: :biker: :croc: :flg: :croc: :biker: :flg: :croc:

Keep on riding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! P.S. 1400 miles is only two days at most. And I'm with ya Bill

·
Registered
2,789 Posts
Gotta disagree wid ya Bug. Curvy roads will yield longer tire life. Tire spends less time on the apex which results in more surface to wear on.

·
15 year Member
6,873 Posts
tire mileage

I have a set of Bridgstones, so far 12,000 miles on them bougt them in Aug 2004 and they still look pretty good... I dremmel off the sharp metal strands and keep air in um.....

Matt(Ashland,MA)

Actually the wear is pretty even and I am trading up so I will keep um through the winter and trade um in!! should be good for another 5k

·
Registered
167 Posts