GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5,528 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a couple people ask me about the tool my friend made for us to aid in removing our side covers from the 1800,s. I asked him if I could post a picture of it along with the measurements. He said that was fine. Now undrstand I am not a professional cameraman.

He used a piece of stainless steel. It measures .250x.020. The length of the bend for removal is .180. The angle of the bend from the flat part is about 70 deg. The overall length is about 3 1/4 in. The O.D. of the finger hold is about 1 1/8 in.

He used stainless because it was a stiffer metal and it won't rust as easy. It works real good. You just insert it at the vital points where the tips are an gently pull. The thickness and lengths are such as the removal tool will fit in and move freely.

Hope this helps and it is OK to copy and change as fits each persons needs.

[/b]

·
Registered
533 Posts
Paper Clip

For a hightech guy, I came up with a low tech solution to panel removal, too. The SS is a nice improvement. :idea:

If you don't have access to stainless steel, you can take a jumbo paper clip and bend it just like 5Ross' tool and throw it into one of the front pockets, so it is always along. Eventhough I made mine for a 1500, it works great on the 1800, too.

·
Registered
12,417 Posts
5Ross,

Any chance you could give some +- dimensions? I tend to overbuild, so your input might hold me back from my maniacal ways.

Save me from myself Ross, Save Me...... :lol:

Dawg

·
Registered
5,528 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dawg,

I don't know about any + - measurements. :) I do know he kept the thickness of the stainless, .020 so it would slide around freely. He kept the thickness of the hook to .180 so I would go in freely. The O.D. of the end could be modified so as to fit your finger :) Other than that it is pretty much made as to ones taste :lol: