GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
438 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 4 wire trailer harness and 5 wire harness converter and have not even a clue where to start!! I'm not too good at wiring....especially when the directions aren't clear to me and with no pictures, saying to consult my service manual which I don't have. Last time I'm buying Add On! I highlighted where they said to start and have no clue where it is...do I really have to take off my fender?

The people I ordered from said I needed both 4 wire harness and 5 wire harness converter. Now that's when I had a standard 4 wire flat plug trailer. Now I bought a trailer that has a 6 pin round connector that I will use instead. Soooo....my question is can I just use the 4 wire trailer harness straight to the 6 pin connector on the trailer and not use the converter?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
Yes, you will have to remove the fender but it is very simple and is only 4 bolts IIRC. That is how you will get access to the bike side wiring. First, what is the trailer make and model that you are going to use?

If you are saying that your trailer has a 6 pin round, then you will need a 6 pin round female connector for the bike. Something like this will be what you need:
https://www.etrailer.com/Wiring/Pollak/PK12720.html
You will then need a suitable mounting bracket for it on your bike although some have drilled a hole in the fender and mounted it that way. And it is actually going to be a little easier for wiring because you will not need the 5-4 converter. You need to find out the wiring colors and functions on your trailer to match them up. And an Isolator will be needed for the bike side. There are isolators that plug into the factory wiring that you will wire up to your bike side female connector. https://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/gl1800_isolated_trailer_harness/147725