GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently brought my 2013 Airbag to Marc Connelly in Lake George to do the “Full Monty” on my bike. I would like to tell anyone who is on the fence about this upgrade to absolutely do it.

I have been riding for 15 years, all types of bikes, and wanted a true touring machine last year. I did all the research and the bike that fit me the best was the gl1800. I’m thrilled with 99% of the bike, but was never fully satisfied with the handling. The CG is spot on (not like the BMWs) and the ride is comfy and quiet, but since I bought this bike, I could never hold a solid line in a turn. I pick my spot, pick my apex and pick my exit, and never hit it with consistency. I feel like I’m constantly putting input into the bike to get it to go where I want it to go. I’ve never had this with any bike I’ve owned or ridden, from mopeds to Road Kings to BMWs and everything in between. The bumps and potholes are rigid, with seemingly no compression or rebound dampening in either the front or rear shock. I’ve tried all combinations of preload, but it just slightly masked the symptoms, and never truly fixed the problems. The problem, as I discovered through research and talking with many an expert, is twofold.